International Coalition of Art Deco Societies

The Art Deco Society of New York is a member of the International Coalition of Art Deco Societies (ICADS). This organization is dedicated to fostering international co-operation and mutual support among members to explore new ways to work together to promote the understanding, appreciation, and preservation of Art Deco. ICADS is responsible for the management of a bi-annual World Congress on Art Deco.

Since its founding in 1992, as a support network for Art Deco Societies around the world, ICADS had been an unincorporated association. As ICADS has grown and the benefits of developing a more robust organization became apparent, the member societies decided to incorporate and elect a Board dedicated to growing the organization. At the ICADS Business Meeting in Shanghai in November 2015, new bylaws were adopted and In January 2016, the group was incorporated as a nonprofit corporation. The following April, the new, geographically diverse Board was elected:

President: Joe Loundy, Chicago Art Deco Society, USA
Vice President: Robin Grow, Art Deco and Modernism Society, Melbourne, Australia
Secretary: Roberta Nusim, Art Deco Society of New York, USA
Treasurer: Neil Nevesny, Art Deco Society of California, USA

Board Members Patrick Cranley, Historic Shanghai, China; Sally Jackson, Art Deco Trust, Napier, New Zealand; Geo Darder, Art Deco, Havana, Cuba; Pascal Laurent, Paris Art Deco Society, France; Sandra Cohen-Rose, Art Deco Montreal, Canada

For more information please visit

World Congress

Every two years a member city of the International Coalition of Art Deco Societies (ICADS), hosts the World Congress on Art Deco. Started in Miami in 1991, these programs bring together experts and aficionados from around the world for a week of in-depth seminars, tours, and social events. Congresses have since taken place in Perth, Australia; Brighton and London, United Kingdom; Los Angeles, USA; Napier, New Zealand; Tulsa, USA; Cape Town, South Africa; New York, USA; Melbourne, Australia; Montreal, Canada; Rio de Janiero, Brazil; Havana, Cuba; Shanghai, China; Cleveland, USA; and most recently in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The 2021 Congress will be in Singapore.